Caverns of Coal

from by William Hale



With all of the things that are good in my life
it's a wonder i ever would depart from there
but this town drives away every love that i find
it consumes me with secrets that i never will share.

and if you look around, you might notice the same
we've been blanketed since birth in this veil of despair
but when i step away and look at all that has changed
i can finally hope i might make it somewhere
i can finally feel i might make it somewhere.

there is a crust which has developed on the surface of my soul
and thorn which has torn through the skin of my heart
but in every forgotten cavern of coal
there are diamonds that burn with the power of the stars.


from The Book of Winter Fireworks, released July 12, 2012
Lucas William Hale Van Scoy: Vocals/Acoustic Guitar
Daniel DeJesus: Cello
Donna Baird: Trumpet
Tim Oakley: Drumset



all rights reserved


William Hale Glens Falls, New York

contact / help

Contact William Hale

Streaming and
Download help