Her eyes are blue
her eyes are black
her eyes are green
her eyes are grey

your shaking hand could feel the skin
that overwhelms her perfect shapes

and you could pick those ageless grapes
forbidden spheres of holy sight
fermented fruit of eden
tasting more of sulphur than of wine.

wake up and watch the withered sun
break the clouds of filtered dawn

on the run the road lies like skin
the car moves as wind
your heart rests in stone

on your own you see nothing
of hope or of beauty
the duty of solitude improves the mood you're used to
then is gone like the vapor
you exhale from every stranger you become.

but back a few miles is a smiling face
that is tracing your image
on every blank wall in her mind
just to find that the one she is seeking
has left her behind.


from The Book of Winter Fireworks, released July 12, 2012
Lucas William Hale Van Scoy: Vocals/Acoustic Guitar
Daniel DeJesus: Cello
Stephen Phelps: Bass Guitar
Jared Phelps: Electric Guitar
Tim Oakley: Drumset/Percussion



all rights reserved


William Hale Glens Falls, New York

contact / help

Contact William Hale

Streaming and
Download help